## 2017 RUTH BENEDICT BOOK PRIZE COMPETITION

## **Call for Submissions**

The Association for Queer Anthropology (AQA) is proud to announce the **2017 Ruth Benedict Book Prize Competition** for outstanding anthropological scholarship on a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer topic.

The **Ruth Benedict Book Prize** is presented each year at the American Anthropological Association's annual meeting to acknowledge excellence in a scholarly book written from an anthropological perspective about a topic that engages issues and theoretical perspectives relevant to LGBTQ studies. The Prize is awarded in each of two separate categories, one for a single-authored monograph and another for an edited volume.

Submissions may be on any topic related to lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people, or other gender/sexual formations and categories from any world culture area. Topics may include the study of normativity, queer theory, and the social/historical construction of sexual and gender identities, discourses, and categories. Authors may represent any scholarly discipline, but the material submitted must engage anthropological theories and methods. Submissions may be self-nominated or may be sent by a press or another person.

Books submitted for the competition must have a publication date of 2016 or 2017 and may not have been submitted previously. Page proofs of books scheduled for 2017 publication are acceptable but must include a letter from the publisher confirming the anticipated publication date of 2017.

To nominate a work, please submit one copy of the book or edited volume to each of the four committee members listed below, with the author or editor's name, mailing address, and email address, and telephone number printed clearly on a separate cover letter indicating that it is a submission for the Ruth Benedict Book Prize.

All submissions must be received by Thursday, June 15, 2017.

Send inquiries to Ruth Benedict Book Prize Chair, David A.B. Murray (damurray@yorku.ca)

2017 Ruth Benedict Book Prize Committee Members:

Lucinda Ramberg 1010E State Street Ithaca, NY. 14850

Noelle Stout 31 Farm Rd. Los Altos, CA 94024 David A.B. Murray (chair) 21 Nassau Street, Unit 103 Toronto, ON M5T 3K6 CANADA

Justin Perez 15206 Dana Irvine, CA 92618